Poem for June 12

June 16, 2012 § Leave a comment

Heading(Compass)

We swim because it feels good.
I think it’s probably what
Spiderman feels all the time.
Even when he’s dodging the Goblin
who just so happens
to be his best friend. I once swung
from the ropes and fell
flailing into the water
which was a relief
after trying to hang on
so long.
I’d like to apologize
for leaving, but
I won’t. It’s a soulshame
I wear inside like a map
of indirections and lies.
I left thinking
leaving would make me
different.
Now I realize being different
isn’t the same as
being happy. Why do all the songs
make swimming
sound like sex? Or is it
like being born?
Having your own world
to explore with blurry vision
like you’re high all the time
the horizon not up or down
the points of the compass
indifferent
to your struggle.

-Dan Boehl, from KINGS OF THE F**KING SEA (Birds, LLC, 2011)

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Poem for June 12 at Looking Back at Orpheus.

meta

