Poem for June 17 (Father’s Day)

June 18, 2012 § Leave a comment

Morning

Who is here with me?
My mother and an Indian man.
(I am writing this in the past.)
The Indian man is not a man,
but a wooden statue just outside
the limits of wood. My mother
is made of mother. She touches
the wood with her eyes and the eyes
of the statue turn to hers, that is,
become hers. (I am not dreaming.
I haven’t even been born yet.)
There is a cloud in the sky.
My father is inside the cloud,
asleep. When he wakes up, he
will want coffee and smoke.
My mother will set fire
to the Indian and from deep inside
her body I will tell her
to start the coffee, for even now
I hear my father’s breathing change.

Ron Padgett, from You Never Know, copyright 2001 Coffee House Press
You Never Know
Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Poem for June 17 (Father’s Day) at Looking Back at Orpheus.

meta

