Poem for July 3

July 7, 2012 § 2 Comments

(Note: the following poem will be serialized over the next several days’ worth of blog posts, two parts of the poem per day. It will conclude with parts 9 and 10 in the July 7th entry.)

Epic Poem Concerning the Poet’s Coming of Age as Attis

1. A Brief Introduction to the Cold, Hard Truth

I like to watch the last scene of Easy Rider
over and over, genuflecting before the T.V.
in my parents’ room. I like to watch it

until the world dissembles like air after
an apology. Shots from the car window.
Burst of body and fire and metal. Then,

the long river that folds and folds like
the house after a party. Card table and T.V. trays
with wine stains on the presidents’ faces,

towels left in the yard. I make my father’s
belt rack spin around. Please don’t fold me,
the mouth says into the mirror.

2. Schemes of Domination

In school, they teach us about conquistadores,
men who stepped ashore and said mine.
Cortez could stare a king in the eye

and lie lie lie. We learn about explorers
who slept under the stars with savages
and snakes. Claimed the continent,

then left on their sissy ships for Spain.
I would’ve stayed here. Fuck honor.
I would’ve stayed here, speared

grizzly bears and kept three brown
women. What is brave? Summer
grapes deflate into raisins.

I jerk off on the school bus with
my backpack across my lap. Right
when I come, the bus driver glares

into the rearview mirror and shouts,
No pushing and shoving back there!

-Kara Candito, from Taste of Cherry (University of Nebraska Press, 2009)

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Poem for July 3

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Poem for July 3 at Looking Back at Orpheus.

meta

