Poem for July 25

July 25, 2012 § Leave a comment

The End

I wake
from the dream

and a deep voice
has pity on me

says It’s the end
and I get up

and move
to the blue room

where you stare
at the TV

and you’re dead
your face is dead

and I’m dead
as long as I’m in

the room with you
so love becomes

a blue thing
and we shine

*

The End

My mother
and her dead

sister are
watching me

from the end
Come on

flower
they say

and I love
how they call

me flower
so I walk

closer
toward the light

that is them

 

-Emily Kendal Frey, from The Grief Performance (Cleveland State University Poetry Center, 2011)

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Poem for July 25 at Looking Back at Orpheus.

meta

